University of Teacher Education LucerneLogo ZMRB

Teachers Meet Human Rights

With the acceptance of the declaration of Human Rights Education the UN Human Rights Council has emphasized the importance of Human Rights Education with regard to the enforcement of human rights. However the adoption of the declaration also raises expectations.

Expectations of teachers who broach the issue of human rights with their pupils but also expectations concerning the professional development of teachers in order to give them the necessary knowledge to pursue sustainable and meaningful human rights education. This fundamental idea is the basis of the project “Teachers Meet Human Rights” of the Centre for Human Rights Education (ZMRB) of the PH Luzern.

“Teachers Meet Human Rights” not only emphasizes the importance of but is also orientated according to the basic principles of human rights education.In doing so, the participating teachers are comprehensively informed and trained as to how human rights education can be pursued and in which areas of school it has an impact.

The project pursues the following fundamental ideas:

  • Conceptual support and promotion of Human Rights Education at Swiss Schools

  • The systematic professional development of teachers in human rights education at all levels of education. This includes:

    • Teaching the basic knowledge about human rights
    • What does human rights education include?
    • How does human rights education with children and teenagers work using the “Kompass” and «Compasito»?
    • Which materials and teaching aids exist?
    • How can human rights education be realized in school?
    • Which problems and challenges could occur in schools and how can they be solved?

  • The support of teachers applying human rights and the realization of projects in the area of human rights education
  • The exchange and discussion with other teachers

Logo PHLULogo ZMRB

Teachers Meet Human Rights

Mit der Annahme der Deklaration zur Menschenrechtsbildung unterstrich der UNO-Menschenrechtsrat die Bedeutung der Menschenrechtsbildung in Bezug auf die Vermittlung der Menschenrechte. Doch die Verabschiedung der Deklaration erweckt auch Erwartungen.

Erwartungen an Lehrpersonen, die Menschenrechte mit ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern zu thematisieren und Erwartungen an die Lehrerweiterbildung, die Lehrpersonen mit dem nötigen Know-how auszustatten, um eine nachhaltige und sinnvolle Menschenrechtsbildung zu betreiben. Auf diesem Grundgedanken beruht das Projekt «Teachers Meet Human Rights» des Zentrums für Menschenrechtsbildung (ZMRB) der PH Luzern.

«Teachers Meet Human Rights» stellt nicht nur die Vermittlung von Menschenrechten in der Vordergrund, sondern orientiert sich an den Grundsätzen der Menschenrechtsbildung. Dabei sollen die teilnehmenden Lehrpersonen umfassend informiert und geschult werden, wie Menschenrechtsbildung betrieben werden kann und in welchen Bereichen in der Schule die Menschenrechtsbildung hineinwirken kann.

Dabei verfolgt das Projekt folgende Grundideen:

  • Die Förderung der Menschenrechtsbildung an Schweizer Schulen
  • Die gezielte Weiterbildung von Lehrpersonen aller Schulstufen in der Menschenrechtsbildung. Dies beinhaltet:

    • Vermittlung von Grundwissen über die Menschenrechte
    • Was beinhaltet die Menschenrechtsbildung?
    • Wie funktioniert Menschenrechtsbildung mit Kinder und Jugendlichen mit Hilfe von Kompass und Compasito?
    • Welche Materialien und Lehrmittel sind vorhanden?
    • Wie kann Menschenrechtsbildung in der Schule umgesetzte werden?
    • Welche Probleme und Herausforderungen stellen sich der Menschenrechtsbildung in den Schulen

  •  Die Unterstützung von Lehrpersonen in der Anwendung von Menschenrechten und der Umsetzung von Projekten im Bereich der Menschenrechtsbildung
  • Der Austausch und die Diskussion mit anderen Lehrpersonen